Rules

Katharine Hepburn once said “If you obey all the rules, you miss all the fun.”  I do tend to agree with her, but I also know myself well enough to know that if I don’t place some sort of rules on what I’m doing here, everything will go out the window and in a week’s time I will be warming up a frozen pizza as I gloriously proclaim myself a master chef.  Without rules, there will be nothing to keep me in check – it’s just how I am.

  • Warming up frozen food is not cooking!
  • “Just add water/milk” things are not cooking. I know there’s boxed mashed potatoes and a lot of instant foods, but that really won’t teach me anything.  I mean, If I was going to “just add milk” to something, it would be to cereal.
  • Once a month I will try an ingredient I don’t like. There’s a LOT I don’t like. Chicken with bones in it, any kind of pork, any kind of seafood, as well as a myriad of other things.
  • I will do all the food shopping I can from local family-owned markets, farmers markets, neighborhood butchers, etc.
  • ASSEMBLING food is not the same as cooking food.  Sandwiches are great, but in that case you don’t have to DO anything.
  • If something looks good but tastes like crap, I promise not to post a pretty photo proclaiming how delicious it is as I secretly order takeout for my real dinner.
  • When I am done, I will throw a giant dinner party for all my friends.
Leave a Reply

