Milestone!

Well, it is a landmark day here at the 29andhungry kitchen. Let me preface this by saying no, I have not finally made my perfect cheese that I’ve been attempting. No, I haven’t gotten my broken oven fixed. BUT what I did do is manage to make a recipe by myself. Not that I haven’t before, but that’s actually FOLLOWING a recipe step by step. *shines fingernails on lapel*

First of all, let me say it’s nothing fancy. I’m not going to blow your mind with some new-found superpower cooking skills. But the fact that I thought “oh, what’s in the pantry and what can I turn it into?” is a big deal to me, since usually I go to the store, buy exactly what is in the recipe and then follow it exactly. So for me to assess what I have and turn it into something edible is pretty awesome, in my stomach’s opinion.

I had frozen cheese and spinach ravioli. And all sorts of other stuff; olive oil, lemons, an onion, parsley… Zebra Cakes. Just the usual stuff that’s floating around. I did have red sauce that I recently bought, but honestly, I have no clue what made me buy it being that I’m not that big on tomatoes, therefore red sauce is ‘meh’ in my book. SO, I had this plan to make the ravioli and top it with olive oil, sautéed onions, garlic, parsley, basil, butter and a squeeze of lemon. I’m sure that this is a recipe that has been 10,000 times before. But just humor me on this one!

Got the ravioli cooking and started heating up my pan. I threw in a good splash of olive oil, waited for it to get hot and then dumped in the onions and (lots) of garlic. After they looked cooked I put in some parsley flakes, dried basil, and a tablespoon of butter, salt and pepper. I have no clue where the butter thing came from – it just seemed right. Or I was just having fun putting random amounts of random stuff in my kitchen into this pan without having to look at a recipe every two seconds. It was hard being that I couldn’t TASTE it before it was done and somewhat cooled off to see if there was anything I should add to it, but that’s okay. I even found some Parmesan cheese to top it with!

So there you have it. Nothing even remotely hard or fancy, but something made all by myself without the help of a cookbook or Google. Yay, progress! And being that my vehicle is currently out of commission,  I don’t feel bad for inhaling this plate of pasta being that I have had to walk everywhere so I’ve been getting a good workout this week, plus leisurely walking I have noticed quite a few new little ethnic markets on Hertel Avenue that have popped up that I can’t wait to scope out!

Comments
8 Responses to “Milestone!”
  1. Leslie Richardson says:

    Great job Erin!! You’re on your way…..

  2. Bianca says:

    Progress. Wonderful!

  3. Sandy says:

    Good for you Erin! That looks yummy. Being able to make something out of “stuff” in your cupboard is a valuable skill and can get you through hard times.

    • 29andhungry says:

      I’m just hoping eventually it will mean I won’t be running to the grocery store every day (my usual practice is to go, get what I want to eat that day, and that’s it.. there’s been more food/ingredients in my house the past month than there ever has been!)

  4. natalie says:

    This makes my mouth water, looks so good!!

Leave a Reply

