Duck Breast with Concord Chevre Croquette

Before I get started on Nickel City Chef cooking stuff, I’ll say that for Christmas my parents got me a KitchenAid mixer!!! I am insanely excited about it and can’t wait to start making things in it, most of which I plan on giving away being that if I start making baked goods every day it will totally negate any time I spend at the gym.  If anybody has any good recipes for it, send them my way!

I shouldn’t even be writing about this recipe, which is Trattoria Aroma’s Chef Keith Dulak’s duck breast with Concord chevre croquette, or any recipe involving duck. The first bite I had I spit out after chewing it two times. Apparently I don’t like duck and couldn’t even choke down one bite. I have a feeling I wouldn’t care for duck no matter what manner it was prepared in.

Of course when I first started out with this recipe, I had no idea. I mean, I found it to be weird when looking at the raw duck breast I purchased – I expected it to look more like chicken, I guess, and have a chicken-like consistency and it is more red meat looking than anything. Plus the skin on it was thick and weird. But I guess this goes back to me hoping everything is like my beloved “safe” boneless skinless chicken breast. Which it most certainly wasn’t. Despite being apprehensive about it from the beginning, once everything was in my house after a painstakingly busy Sunday afternoon trip to Wegmans, to the kitchen I went hoping for the best. Plus I figured worst case scenario I got to fill up on concord chevre croquettes, which of course is two of my favorite things – cheese and potato. Yum.

I put the duck in a pan with oil for a while for the fat to render while we assembled the croquette station. I had to form the patties out of a potato chevre and grape puree. It was really hard because I think when cutting the recipe in half (since I was only cooking for two people) I sort of messed up in the ingredients somewhere (maybe next year I will do a blog called 30andsucksatmath) and forgot to cut one in half or something along those lines. It is a constant when I am changing servings of recipes that I really have to focus on “okay, HALF of that. Is this half? Yes? Okay, put it in. No? Take out half, then put it in.” I blame my dogs for distracting me and messing up my chain of thought. Much like they are doing right now as I try to type.

Anyway, the croquette patties that were to be dredged in flour, egg and bread crumbs were sort of watery and didn’t want to stay together at ALL. I think maybe I put double the cheese in. Or too much jam. With Luke’s help though, he somehow got them to stick together enough to start frying them up, as I focused on the duck cooking. I had to ask him every two seconds “Does this look done?” since I had no idea how it was supposed to look. Somehow we wound up finishing the slightly misshapen crumbly croquettes (they still looked pretty good though) and the duck, put some salad on the plate and off we went to see if I was going to like it.

As I said earlier, I didn’t. I didn’t like the consistency or the way it felt in my mouth or the taste. I can’t even write a proper review of it. My boyfriend said it was okay, not the best but not the worst. The croquette wasn’t too bad, but being that the ingredient measurements were probably off, I’m not surprised. I guess the salad was okay. So I will chalk this one up to a learning experience!

Comments
3 Responses to “Duck Breast with Concord Chevre Croquette”
  1. Jay Stoos says:

    I think, together, we can make something fairly tasty (along with a dessert of course) on of these days…as long as you disparage Luke the whole time we’re cooking. You’re berating remarks about your “iPhone photographer boyfriend” always bring a smile to my face. Great blog post by the way. It goes to show that you don’t have to be great at something to creatively and intelligently describe the journey in creating it. Keep having fun with it!

    • 29andhungry says:

      Berating?! Is that how it comes across? I don’t mean it to – clearly Luke is amazing with a camera no matter what the camera is 🙂 and yes, we could most certainly make a most awesome dinner… ESPECIALLY dessert with the KitchenAid! 😀

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] from scratch.  In the 8 months since she started the blog she’s tried a lot of new foods, upgraded some of her kitchen gadgets and attempted some elaborate […]



Leave a Reply

