Mulligatawny Soup

I had to take a break from the NCC cookbook for just one week… you see, sometimes in life you may accidentally almost break someone’s toe. And sometimes the only thing that can atone for said toe incident is making soup. Not just any soup – but a very specific and absolutely amazing soup. A few weeks ago Luke and I were eating dinner and I went to scootch my very heavy wooden dining room table chair over as I was sitting in it, and somehow it wound up on his toe. Mea culpa. Anyway, a few days after the swelling went down a little I still felt horrible and he said I could make it up to him by making “the soup” which he had been asking for for weeks. Now that I think about it, maybe the chair never came down on his toe and this was all a ploy to get me to cook this soup up.  Hmm.

When I had been taking a break from blogging I came across a mulligatawny soup recipe and decided to make it. As I have said before I am not a fan of soup really, but my budget was especially tight that week and I knew it would be insanely cheap to make so I decided to make it for dinner. I wound up tweaking the recipe with a lot more spices (and a secret ingredient. Ooooh, mystery!) and upon the first bite hitting my tongue, I absolutely could NOT believe that I made something so amazing, and that I was freaking out over what I normally viewed as boring old soup. It sounds cocky and sounds egotistical for me to say, but seriously – this soup makes grown men cry uncontrollable tears of sheer happiness.

The original recipe probably would have turned out perfectly fine. It is in no sense mulligatawny in the traditional sense, but I am not really one to get caught up on how traditional a recipe is – as long as it tastes good in the end I don’t care what name is slapped on it. And you may look at it and think apples are out of place and weird in the recipe, but trust me – leave them in because they go perfectly. Anyway, in addition to the original recipe at the end for extra spices I added/changed the following:

  • Approximately 2 tablespoons of allspice
  • Doubled the curry powder (I love spicy food, perhaps if you don’t think might be too much. But for us it was perfect.)
  • One tablespoon of garlic powder
  • And the “secret ingredient” that seriously just made everything come together was about one tablespoon of Rocket Sauce from Lloyd’s Taco Truck. You can buy it online or at the Lexington Co-Op. Of course, if you live in Buffalo you should be going to the taco truck every chance you get to pick up some awesome tacos/nachos/burritos for lunch anyway, so just get a bottle while you’re there!

That was pretty much all I changed. It may not seem like a lot, but I have found that little things like spices really go a long way. I’ve been trying to get better at adding spices to things being that my boyfriend always tells me I am a “criminal underseasoner” so I always add double what I THINK I should add so my food doesn’t turn out all bland and boring. Everything came together perfectly and the soup was AMAZING, and I am sure it more than made up for a black and blue toe, heh.

In addition to making the soup, I also decided to start putting some mileage on my KitchenAid and see if I could make naan bread to go with dinner. Honestly, I wasn’t really expecting it to turn out and was more or less just playing around, but I followed this recipe for roasted garlic naan and it came out AWESOME. All buttery and garlicky and wonderful and was great in sopping up the last bits of soup. It was actually a lot easier to make than I thought it was going to be, so I really can’t wait to try making more bread in the future… Although I have a feeling that the KitchenAid will be VERY busy in the time to come – I got the ice cream maker attachment for my mixer and I can’t wait to start making all sorts of ice cream… good thing I have an extra freezer in the basement!

Leave a Reply

